My Dad Died On A Tuesday

My dad died on a Tuesday

That’s what I remember most

For the life of me I can’t remember his voice

I can’t mold the image of his face in my mind

I cannot will the scene of being small enough to sit on his shoulders and grip my small hands under his chin

Just the casket holding the mannequin is where my thoughts begin

 

Author: The Unamused Muse

You know me better than I do.

1 thought on “My Dad Died On A Tuesday”

  1. The pain most likely will never subside, however in time and with love it gets easier to deal with…

    I too know the loss, with me its different, my parent who is no longer drawing a breath decided that a military career and a heavy party life was more important, more important than her own two kids…

    Sure im sad shes gone, but I never knew this woman who gave me the life I know now, she even went as far as to point a rifle at me once… My life with her was damn near the big hoodoo song never had….

    When I was a child her boyfriend at the time molested me, I had rage so much rage that I vowed that once I became old enough id hunt him down, however I had come into the information that he had died, and with that all the self guilt that came with the torment… I have been literally in hell but have somehow gotten through it…

    I think even when my dad dies I will have more feelings towards that, however its hard to tell because even his relationship with me has been strained through the yrs…

    I’m not religious by any means, but I do believe that the dead do look in on us from time to time…

    Like

Leave a Reply

