Xanax And Xanadu

It seems an easy task at someone keeping their medication straight. You pick a desired time to build a routine on and you go with that. Sometimes it doesn’t work out that way.

In the nervousness of starting my first day on the job, I held a comfort in knowing that my Xanax was there for me. I couldn’t wait to wake up and take it. Which is exactly what I did before my feet hit the floor. The thing is, with waking up at a new and earlier time, I took it again when 7 AM came. It was just out of habit of taking it at the same time for the few months I have had it prescribed to me.

“Shit” I thought to myself as I walked in the restaurant doors “Did I just take that again?”

Never having this problem before, I had no idea what to expect.

No one there seemed to be in a hurry. It was very relaxed for what you would think would be a fast pace on edge kind of atmosphere.

I was taken to the back break room by a very nice assistant manager who put on some videos for me to watch before I could go on the floor.

“It’s like three hours” he said “Get a drink if you need one and I’ll be back to check on you”

“Okay” I smiled as he walked away and the first video started.

I could feel the heat in the room mix in with my yawn and burn down my throat before going straight to my head like a hard shot of liquor.

I was gone that quick.

Trying to hold on to the flickering lights above me but it was no use.

I was already dreaming.

Already walking through the woods alone.

Wondering aloud to nature “Are you really going to wear that today? That brown and green looks horrible against your blue top”

Then laughing again as I looked down to discover that I wasn’t wearing anything at all. The forest quickly disappeared and I was back in the restaurant.

“We are going to put you at the drive-thru window” the manager said.

“Can I get something to wear?” I asked.

He just laughed.

Never a good thing for someone to laugh while you are naked. Even if they aren’t laughing because you are naked.

I was given a set of headphones to wear and set by the back window to take money from the customers. All I could hear coming from the headset was the static voice of someone saying how this was a great place to work.

The same manager came back and shook me awake by the shoulder.

“Good stuff, huh?” he laughed.

“I’m going to put you on fryer” he said

Put the fries in the basket and set the timer. Timer goes off and pick up the basket. Pour it into the container and put salt on it.

That was my instructions.

Seems like a job for a flake.

I’m not a flake.

Am I?

 

3

 

 

 

 

Author: The Unamused Muse

You know me better than I do.

Leave a Reply

