One Shot

“Just one shot” he says

So begins the descent 

One shot and I’m in a burning forest screaming for my mother who is nowhere to be found

I find her there in the reflection from the mirror on the ground

Under all the pretty white Christmas is a girl with ancient eyes that light up the night

Seen too much and not enough

Educated star that’s not very bright

“One more for our missing friends” 

One more never ends

Author: The Unamused Muse

You know me better than I do.

Leave a Reply

