An Empath’s Wet Dream

I don’t mean to bother you

I know you are very busy

I put your clothes in the dryer this morning like you asked

I listened to a dream you had while you got dressed for wherever it is you are going

The thing is, I dream too

Not that you have asked

Sure, I could bring it up and you would listen

Yeah, I dream too but not very often

Not very long

Usually there is a part of a dream that my mind will not accept and I will wake up

Sometimes, they are so real that my spirit refuses to leave

I was going against the crowd

Just seemed natural

Trying to get to my mother who was waiting in the parking lot

That’s when I saw my father

He wasn’t old and helpless like he was the last time I saw him

He looked like he did when I was eight years old

Even the height difference was the same

Still my brain never cared as I rushed up to him with my jaw dropped and my hands covering my chest so my heart wouldn’t jump out

He didn’t say anything. Just a few squeaks and groans like he did before he died

It didn’t surprise me

Not even coming out of his full frame. The one that still carried a full belly that he blamed on my mother for being such a great cook

She wasn’t but that was just him

I followed behind him the way I always did. Eyes on him and ignoring everything else. I was safe when he was around

The strangers blurred like neon through the desert strip. Colors went out of the lines but he was still proud of me

I just wanted to paint like him

He was going to the same place I was. To meet my mother. Though he seemed in a bigger hurry than I was

Around the curb that surrounded the grass that held the trees was Fall

It got so cold as my eyes found an empty parking lot. Mother wasn’t there. His smile didn’t change much. Though I read it as it went from a great expectation to accepting things for what they were. What they have always been

Suddenly we were back with the crowd. I guess they were heading toward an amusement park because we were getting on a ride together. I never caught the lapse in time

The ride looked like a top hat. One that only held one person

Below the seat, at the very bottom of the hat was a row of bars that went all the way around

As the ride started and the hats began slowly spinning I couldn’t take my eyes off of the shadows that the bars were making against my legs. Every few seconds I would have stripes. Faster and faster the hats spun until the stripes were permanent

Even faster now until furnace flames pulled themselves between the bars and burned my legs and I exhaled black smoke rings

“Daddy!” I screamed

That is when the laugh started

It was evil

I know evil

Again I screamed but nothing came out

The laughter just got louder and louder

The hat spun faster and faster as I braced my arms against it’s rounded sides

I looked up and saw the sky

It wasn’t a hat I was in

It was a smoke stack

I wish you thought to ask me what I dream at night

I don’t want to be alone today

images

Author: The Unamused Muse

You know me better than I do.

Leave a Reply

