After Birth

My mother wasn’t the same person during the years she was married to Whitey. It’s difficult to remember her being my best friend before and it’s even more mind blowing to think that this person who took me out shopping for clothes today is my crazy mother

 She never hit me before they were together. Not one time when I was growing up did she lay a hand on me. The first time was in 6th grade when I walked through the door of the house. She found out I had been ditching school

 Before I had time to finish jumping out of my skin at the primal scream and her jumping out from behind the door, her hand swung down on the top of my head and knocked me to the floor. The pain was unbelievable and the shock of seeing blood on my hand after I finally took it off my head was even more so

 She had her keys in her hand when she did that

 Never said she was sorry and I wonder if she remembers these things

 Maybe it’s better to leave those years locked away 

Author: The Unamused Muse

You know me better than I do.

Leave a Reply

